We use oats in our brewing process and not wheat or barley for several reasons. On the one hand, the Genusskoarl wrote his diploma thesis on oats and thus learned to appreciate this grain. On the other hand, when brewing itself, the oats ensure an optimal fermentation process thanks to their carbohydrates and this also has its advantages in cultivation.


Oats were already around 5000 BC. was first documented as a cultivated plant and has been used in the foothills of the Alps since the Bronze Age at the latest. This is proven by finds from pile-dwelling settlements in Switzerland.

A long history of cultivation also leads to a whole series of names in German usage, some of which are: Biven/Biwen (East Frisia), Evena/Evina (Middle High German), Flöder (Graubünden), Habaro/Haberr/Habir (Old High German), Habbern/Haberen /Hafern/Haffern (Middle High German), Haber (Switzerland), Haffer (Frankfurt), Haowr´r (Altmark), Havern (Middle Low German), Hawer/Hawerkorn (Mecklenburg, Waldeck, Unterweser), Heberin/Hebrein Brod (Middle High German), Huever (Transylvania), Hyllmann (Swabia), Koorn (Münsterland) and Rispenhafer.


Oats are mainly grown in areas with a temperate climate and high rainfall and place little demands on the soil. Growing oats can also limit the spread of pests for grains such as barley and wheat, which cannot multiply in the oat fields.

Image: Oat growing areas (Source: Wikipedia.org, February 2020)

In 2017, 25 million tons of oats were grown worldwide; compared to 735 million tons of wheat (2018), oats play a minor role in agriculture. Another reason for Genusskoarl to use oats as a raw material for its products is that different cultures lead to greater biodiversity.


When it comes to nutrients, oats themselves have a number of positive effects. Including digestion thanks to the high fiber content, especially beta-glucan. This special fiber has, among other things, a positive effect on cholesterol and reduces the risk of developing high blood pressure, lipid metabolism disorders and coronary heart disease. However, these positive properties only appear with higher, regular doses, which are not achieved in WienerWürze. However, if the porridge is seasoned with Viennese seasoning.

For people who suffer from celiac disease, oats are special. Although they are a relative of wheat, barley, rye, etc., they can be consumed by many people with celiac disease. However, oats are often contaminated with gluten-containing grains during cultivation and processing, which means that only tested oats can be consumed without any concerns. Products that bear the Celiac Disease Society’s “gluten-free logo” can be consumed without any problems.

The information about oats was summarized by Wikipedia ( https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saat-Hafer ) in March 2020.